2/28 Trees Don't Grow in (outer) Space

Stories and Tips from Hobbyist for Inspiration, Motivation & Conservation

JOM Day - Nature vs Nurture

We all need stress, failure and pressure to survive and be stronger. There's so many quotes, stories, songs about adversity and how the person overcomes something (big or small). Knowing what I know now, I think life needs us to learn and fail, or dish out a serving of whoop ass; so we can be stronger as a person.I would love to hear about your experience that maybe you thought, "dang, I regret doing that." But step back and see the bigger picture, and maybe it's a hard lesson to learn but without that lesson, you will never be able to grow.

Zig Ziglar - If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.

JOM Tip - Caring for Geckos

Although I wish I had time to care for my different animals, I just can not allow myself to not be able to give the 110% care they deserve. So I don't know much about geckos, but I wanted to step out of the tarantula hobby and be able to learn and share tips about other animals.

  • Provide a suitable environment

  • Offer optimal nutrition

  • Schedule regular veterinary care

  • Handle with care

JOM News - The Deep Unknown

In Sci-fi movies, we keep picturing a majority of aliens as bi-pedal; and our assumption is that we (humans) are the most intelligent creatures on the planet. Then anything below us like elephants, ants and sea creatures couldn't be out of this world. But what if?

Rare sightings of giant phantom jellyfish — deep-sea creatures that look like UFO spaceships with thick ribbons streaming from their undersides — have been reported by cruise liner passengers who spotted the otherworldly animals off the coast of Antarctica.

JOM Web - This is my Year

February has been thus far pretty amazing, and it's because I decided to make it that way. I'm not talking about taking what I want, but giving the time and effort to make it better. I met with high school school mates that I haven't seen in 30 years. I've been being a better father and take my toddlers to the park (if it's not raining). And definitely, I continue to screw up with my wife, it happens cause we live together and we know each other too well, and I think it's cause we expect too much. But I do come back and apologies, and while annoyance (not temper) is fleeting, it's hard to get rid of; but we manage.I'm also starting a few work related projects with a couple of partners (friends), and hopefully that does well. I'm working on a snack brand, planning to start a new drink brand and also wholesale some meats to restaurants. Yep, trying to grow our food distribution business, and sometimes you have to take a different path to learn.This week, I attended a dinner (bank invited) and there was some heavy hitters there; people that have gone thru what I am many years ago. Chain restaurants, natural food grocers, major branded snacks and drinks; gosh people that can learn from. I think it's true that if you want to be successful, you do need to surround yourself with mentors.

If you have a "serendipitous" moment you like to share, reach out at [email protected]

JOM - Trees need pressure to grow strong

Without gravity and weather, trees don't have strong trunks and roots. Trees grown on the space station are thin and root system is all crazy. There's no direction in zero gravity (no pull) so trees don't know the basic up for grwo

JOM Meme

Never trust anyone whose TV is bigger than their (bookshelf) tarantula collection.

Remember when you use to bully me? Meet one of my lovely pets.

  • Cool, Funny or Motivational Story to share?

  • Animal related meme?

  • Tips about caretaking of animals?

  • Need to vent?

  • Don't email me compliments, give me constructive criticism on how to improve.

Email me at [email protected]

Fun Disclaimer: none of this is any sort of professional, financial or life advice. This newsletter is strictly a composition of random thoughts, and far from educational or used to make any kind of decisions. Please do your research and take our newsletter as feel good reminder to enjoy life, and always be kind.Take care of yourself, family, friends, animals and plants (not necessarily in that order), most definitely be kind to strangers and others (they might just be having a bad hair day).

Be nice (or shut up) to people, they might just be having a bad hair day.

This is "a Gentleman's Agreement" from me to you.If you enjoy this newsletter, and feel that someone you know might benefit from a good feel laugh or need motivation; do introduce "Beyond the Hobby" with them.

a Gentleman's Agreement - let's shake on it