3/1 Not as Thankful

Stories and Tips from Hobbyist for Inspiration, Motivation & Conservation

JOM Day - Stop Changing Your Mind

I recall many times when going to a new restaurant being excited, I hardly ever read about recommendations or rating from strangers; so I just go in there without any expectations. Most of the time, I enjoy the scenery and the meal; and very few times is there something wrong.How about the times that you go to a nice restaurant with a nice scene, it might not be a rooftop restaurant but maybe even a outdoor cafe by a park. I really enjoy those meals that the restaurant is nicely decorated or has a nice view. So I often mention to the waiter, "how nice it is to work at a place with a great view." And usually the response is always, "it's ok."It's ok? I think that's the problem with me, and most people. We forget the excitement of the first day, the first time. We just numb and forget that the simple things that made us bright eyed is still there (just the same). So I remind myself (as I often forget), to enjoy something that's mundane.

Richard Paul Evans - the truest indication of gratitude is to return what you are grateful for.

JOM Tip - Other Collections

Does anyone else collect anything?I have a good size collection of comics from way back (3 decades ago); I don't think it's worth too much besides the purchase value. And then there's some issues I'm sure that are worth a bit more. Nothing like the Golden Age comics of course. Just a passion of mine when I was in school to buy and read them, and of course make sure they try to stay as new as possible.So with any hobby, you'll need to always be prepared. For comics, you would need to have clear plastic and a cardboard backing to keep the issue dust free and straight. Then you have comic boxes that hold any where between 250-500 issues.You need to always make sure you have what you need, enclosures, substrate, waterdish and what I use the most is probably (and always lose) is a long tong for feeding.

JOM Link - Animals Help Us Too

While we think that we are the caretakers for animals, in many ways that are subtle they also take care of a missing need that we have. I think most (hopefully all) agree that caring for someone (like a spouse or child or parent too) makes us selfless and put others before our need.

I'm torn, but understand that sometimes we have to give up an animal and even a child because at that time it's the best for the animal and the person. I don't think it's abandonment or anything bad; it's just what is needed for the happiness of both (but still sad). I'm glad that owner was able to attach a note with the dog, and the story had a happy ending. (do read the article)

If you have a "serendipitous" moment you like to share, reach out at [email protected]

JOM Meme

Eli Tribbett - This has to be a dude, a woman would have neatly folded the molt and place it in the corner.

Please "Don't Say Anything," just clean up the Reptile Room.

  • Cool, Funny or Motivational Story to share?

  • Animal related meme?

  • Tips about caretaking of animals?

  • Need to vent?

  • Don't email me compliments, give me constructive criticism on how to improve.

Email me at [email protected]

Fun Disclaimer: none of this is any sort of professional, financial or life advice. This newsletter is strictly a composition of random thoughts, and far from educational or used to make any kind of decisions. Please do your research and take our newsletter as feel good reminder to enjoy life, and always be kind.Take care of yourself, family, friends, animals and plants (not necessarily in that order), most definitely be kind to strangers and others (they might just be having a bad hair day).

Be nice (or shut up) to people, they might just be having a bad hair day.

This is "a Gentleman's Agreement" from me to you.If you enjoy this newsletter, and feel that someone you know might benefit from a good feel laugh or need motivation; do introduce "Beyond the Hobby" with them.

a Gentleman's Agreement - let's shake on it