Winning Mindset

Stories and Tips from Hobbyist for Inspiration, Motivation & Conservation

JOM Day - Progression is Success

As a child, adults are always giving you advice and mostly they come in quotes. Unfortunately, the young is naive and this only comes with age and experience. I try to talk to my kids, my colleagues and friends and see how they are doing. I just want to share tidbits and hopefully you can wake up the next day knowing you progressed from yesterday.Short-term wins, Long-term goalsWhat does that mean? Simply put when you're running a marathon, you first need to make the first step. It's hard to try and focus 26 miles down the road; there's hills, turns and bumps. The goal is out of sight (out of mind). So you need to set short-term goals, and this my friend is progress. That's all you need to do to succeed. Just start, and start again, and again; each day is a fight to start.

Richard Wilkins - Miracles start to happen when you give as much energy to your dreams as you do your fears.

JOM Tip - Getting My Hands Dirty

Stumbled upon this stuff while trying to find something at Home Depot that would be suitable for tarantula substrate. I believe this is my ideal choice for all around use for slings up to adults. It's opens nice and moist, but when it dries out it takes a bit of time to soak up and get going again.

Jiffy Seed Starting Mix

At $6-8 per bag of 12 Qt is amazing volume and last me for a long time; but doesn't stop me from stocking up 30 bags in my room. The substrate is 100% organic and OMRI listed, is a light, airy blend of quality ingredients: 60-70% Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss, Vermiculite, Coir pith and Lime (pH adjuster).

JOM News - Bears Get High

With all the ads we consume, I guess I feel pretty good that I didn't accidentally consume any drugs; like the movie that is currently out. This is crazy, but then I thought this probably really happened.

So...any of this really happen? Read on...In September 1985, the authorities discovered the body of a drug smuggler in a Tennessee backyard. Investigators spent months searching for the stash that probably dropped. In the mountains of Georgia, a black bear found it first and let's just say the movie is a stretch (and in real life the bear OD'd. The story ended before it even started....go watch the movie since no spoiler alert here.

The sequel to the movie is "Cocaine Sharks," because just this month (Feb, 2023) the authorities reportedly found thousands of pounds of cocaine in the Pacific Ocean this month.

JOM Web - Arranged Marriage

I guess it's not so bad to be a gigolo. Come on, someone we're going around posting on Social Media trying to find a male for our female. I feel like I'm running a bordello, and there's all these ladies and men just waiting to get hooked up. Hahaha.Of course, I do want my males to really get the opportunity to live out a completely life, so I do hope that as a caretaker we make the effort to give males a chance to spread his seeds. I know this seems like so much effort, but hopefully you can find people like myself or local "honest" dealers and loan or sell them the male; and vice versa.I only paired 5 species, and had two successful sacs. I'm still learning from from being experienced; but I feel it's up to me to give them the chance to live a full life.

If you have a "serendipitous" moment you like to share, reach out at [email protected]

JOM Meme

Gordon Ramsay - Your substrate is so damp, your tarantula found Nemo.

Simambea - Jason Mask Harvestman

  • Cool, Funny or Motivational Story to share?

  • Animal related meme?

  • Tips about caretaking of animals?

  • Need to vent?

  • Don't email me compliments, give me constructive criticism on how to improve.

Email me at [email protected]

Fun Disclaimer: none of this is any sort of professional, financial or life advice. This newsletter is strictly a composition of random thoughts, and far from educational or used to make any kind of decisions. Please do your research and take our newsletter as feel good reminder to enjoy life, and always be kind.Take care of yourself, family, friends, animals and plants (not necessarily in that order), most definitely be kind to strangers and others (they might just be having a bad hair day).

Be nice (or shut up) to people, they might just be having a bad hair day.

This is "a Gentleman's Agreement" from me to you.If you enjoy this newsletter, and feel that someone you know might benefit from a good feel laugh or need motivation; do introduce "Beyond the Hobby" with them.

a Gentleman's Agreement - let's shake on it