Just Get Up and Try

JOM Day - No Better Day Than Today

It's been a long couple years, and I guess we're all still hanging in there. I'm sure we all had some lost that defines who we are - and shit man we're all fighters.

We've all have something that has been itching in our minds for years, or maybe something recent that just came up. What is it? What's holding you back?

Recently, push came to shove - and I've always wanted to jog a marathon or compete (not complete) in a triathlon; and funny thing is the tarantula hobby gave me a BIG PUSH.

JOM Tip - Arboreal vs Fossorial

I'm a huge fan for fossorial, and the argument goes that we're just keeping jars of dirt. Then I will reply, well if your enclosure was 15 feet high and the tarantula would live way up there; you'll be staring at a tree trunk the whole time. At least then I would still be able to see their legs or glimpse of take downs; your tree loving spider would ... well, never be seen.

Arboreal: Adapted for living in trees.Semi-Arboreal: Living on bushes near the ground.Terrestrial: Living on or in the ground.Fossorial: Adapted for digging and living underground.

JOM News - Get out of my Park

“Parks are not suitable homes for animals not indigenous to those parks – domesticated or otherwise,” the spokesperson said.

Hmmm, I wonder how the alligator feels about humans swimming in the water. Kind of their territory I think.

JOM Day - Why am I running a marathon?

So the other day, I met up with a friend (thru the hobby). This is where I think the hobby is amazing, and I took the effort to keep in touch with people. We went to watch a hockey game with his wife, and I bought my son (yep the same one that got us on this tarantula adventure).

Before the name, we grabbed food and drinks; and what made 1+1 = 3 was that I don't know how but I must have mentioned my bucket list and wanting to run a marathon. His wife avid runner said she was going to sit out on the next L.A. marathon and she was going to give me her bib.

Now I'm training with less than a month left (probably going to die); but wanted to share something that wouldn't have occurred if I never got into this hobby; or made the effort to keep in touch with him.

If you have a "serendipitous" moment like this, please share and allow me to post your story.

JOM Meme

Have Fun Disclaimer: none of this is any sort of professional, financial or life advice. This newsletter is strictly a composition of random thoughts, and far from educational or used to make any kind of decisions. Please do your research and take our newsletter as feel good reminder, and always be kind. Enjoy your family, friends, animals and life (not necessarily in that order).

My First Post...!!!